Tal Rosner


Project :: Year


Classical/Contemporary Music


Music Promo

Large Scale Installation (outdoors)



Nancarrow Player-Piano Study No. 7

Taking a very pure approach to the sound, this is a graphic representation of Conlon Nancarrow's Player-Piano Study no.7. Drawing inspiration partly from the music roll of the player piano and the experimental film and graphics of the 1920s, geometric elements are introduced, each 'set' representing a motif in the music. As these motifs reappear in the piece so do their graphic counterparts, each time changing and creating new geometric landscapes.


Format: DV, 6 min 50 sec (film) or approx. 10 min (live performance).

Music by Conlon Nancarrow.
Live version: arranged for two pianos by Thomas Adès.
A collaboration with Sophie Clements.

Commissioned by the Barbican London, UK 2007.

Above: Nancarrow Study No. 7 (excerpt), QuickTime, 7.3mb.

World Premiere (live performance): March 2007/Pianos: Thomas Adès and Rolf Hind/LSO St. Luke's/London/UK.